• Posted on: 17 August 2018
  • By: sanyu-fm-news

33 people including opposition Members of Parliament arrested in Arua on Monday were on Thursday charged with treason and remanded until 30th August 2018 by the Gulu Chief Magistrate Francis
Matenga Dawa.

The MPs include Gerald Karuhanga of Ntungamo Municipality, Jinja East MP Paul Mwiru, former MP Mike Mabikke and Arua Municipality MP Elect Kassiano Wadri.

The MPs were arrested following the chaos that marred the last day of campaigns in the Arua Municipality by-election.

According to Police, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni's motorcade was allegedly pelted with stones during the chaos, shattering the rear windshield of one of his official cars.

Kyadondo East MP Robert Kyagulanyi’s driver, Yasin Kawuma was shot dead during the chaos.

The four legislators and other residents of Arua and were arraigned before the Chief Magistrate on Thursday and the charges read out to them.

According to Prosecution, they have been accused of attempting to cause harm to the person of the President.

However they were not allowed to enter any plea as the court does not have jurisdiction.

The Magistrate remanded them to prison until 30th August 2018.

The Chief Magistrate also ordered that the accused be accorded medical treatment at a hospital of their choosing.

One of their lawyers Medard Ssegona had earlier complained that the suspects had been tortured and needed urgent medical attention.