• Posted on: 9 April 2018
  • By: Presenters

The constiturional court has orders ten government officials including, , The chief of defence forces Gen. Muhoozi David, head of public service John Mitala, Mps Moses Balyeku and Margret Kubanga and the Secretary to Treasury Keith Muhakanizi to appear in court at Mbale on 17th/April 2018 and be cross -examined on their affidavits they swore while in support of the age -limit law.

Other officials who have been summoned are ; police officers Frank Mwesigwa and Asuman Mugyeni, the clerk to parliament Jane Kibirige and the sgt at arms at Parliamnet Ahmed Kagoye .

However the court has declined to summon the speaker to parliament Rebecca Kadaga on grounds that there is no reason to do so because she didn't swear an affidavit in this case.

Hearing of the age-limit petition is still underway at the Mbale Highcourt with parties now starting their submissions on the substantative issues. The lead petitioner which is the Uganda law society through its lawyer Wandera Ogalo is the first one to submit to the effect that it was unconstitutional for parliament to enlarge the tenure of office of current Mps from 5 to 7 years hence running from 2016-2023.

Ogalo has submitted that the issue of extending the tenure of office of Mps and LCV leaders was never part of the amendments proposed by the infamous Magyezi bill and therefore not part of the issues forwarded to the parliamentary legal committee for consideration by the speaker.

Ogalo has informed a panel of 5 Constitutional court justices that since this section was just smuggled into the bill which later became law , it should be declared null and void. Ogalo says in absence of a war or state of emergency where parliament would extend its mandate its unlawful for current MPs to skip the 2021 elections.